Home The Team The Project Parts Submitted to the Registry Modeling Notebook Sponsors


Who we are

The University of Waterloo's 2008 iGEM Team is a dynamic group, consisting of students from the Faculties of Science, Engineering, and Mathematics. We are an undergraduate-run team, with a student Director managing most of our team's affairs and directing our team's ongoing activities. Our enthusiastic Faculty Instructors and Advisors give us the benefit of their experience and, in the case of Dr. Trevor Charles, lab space, and provide us with additional support and guidance in areas related to design, mathematical modelling, lab work and administration.

Because of Waterloo's co-op program, some of our members take courses during the summer, while others work full-time. The majority of our team members participate in the iGEM competition in their spare time, outside of work or school; a few have been involved part-time as part of their research-assistant positions in various labs in the UW Department of Biology. This team structure means that instead of each member taking on one aspect of the project to tackle over the course of the summer, our team collectively works on the project as a whole, each member picking up where the last left off the day before, or even earlier the same day!

UW iGEM Team members are all involved in a unique learning experience: our 2008 team consists largely of students who started with little or no research/laboratory experience and had a range of theoretical knowledge of molecular biology. With a desire to learn and guidance from more experienced teammates, these students have become comfortable working in a lab environment, and our senior members have had valuable opportunities to share their experience with others.

Team Photo

Who we are

Undergraduate Students

Danielle Nash.gif
Danielle Nash Director of the UW iGEM team; Acting Design Team leader.
Biomedical Sciences
Jordan LaPointe.PNG
Jordan LaPointe Modelling Team leader.
Mathematical Physics
Hillary Yeung.PNG
Hillary Yeung Lab Team leader, Summer Co-op.
Chemical Engineering
Shira Davis.gif
Shira Davis Lab Team leader.
Erica Tiberia.PNG
Erica Tiberia Lab Team leader
Emily Wedland.PNG
Emily Wendland Secretary
Biomedical Sciences
Headless Chicken.PNG
Julian Wiegelmann Lab Team leader.
Biomedical Sciences
Ben Ho.PNG
Ben Ho Lab Team leader.
Jostenn Herritt.PNG
Jostenn Herritt Lab Team member, Summer Co-op.
Chemical Engineering
Vanja Polic.PNG
Vanja Polic Lab Team member
Andre Masella.PNG
Andre Masella Former Team Leader, BioMortar Developer, System Administrator
Computer Engineering
Adam Stinchcombe.PNG
Adam Stinchcombe Modelling Team member
Applied Math
Headless Chicken.PNG
Philip Keung Modelling Team member
Actuarial Science
John Heil.PNG
John Heil Lab and Design Team member
Biomedical Sciences
Nick Fischer.PNG
Nick Fischer Fundraising/PR
Robyn Halbot.PNG
Robyn Halbot
Administration, Fundraising/PR
Somil Bhargava.PNG
Somil Bhargava
Fall Co-op.
Nanotechnology Engineering

Faculty Instructors

Brian Ingalls.PNG
Dr. Brian Ingalls

Team Founder/Mathematical Modelling Advisor

Trevor Charles.PNG
Dr. Trevor Charles

Lab Advisor, Provider of All-Important Lab Space

Barb Moffatt.PNG
Dr. Barb Moffatt

Administration/Fundraising Advisor

Marc Aucoin.PNG
Dr. Marc Aucoin

Co-op Supervisor


Josh Neufeld.PNG
Dr. Josh Neufeld


Brendan McConkey.PNG
Dr. Brendan McConkey


Scott Clark.PNG
Dr. Scott Clark

Lab/Design Advisor

Maria Trainer.PNG
Maria Trainer

Administration/Fundraising Advisor

Other Key Members

IMG 0759.jpg
Bruce Spinning lots of things
IMG 0761.JPG
Simon Spinning a few things

Team Pictures